Board of Directors

Our Leadership

Fran Marshall
Chief Executive Officer

Fran’s history with Girl Scouts is long and illustrious. She was a Brownie as a girl, and continued the Girl Scouting tradition within her family, becoming troop leader for her daughters when they were young. Fran’s passion for the organization prompted her to join the [former] Great Plains Council Board of Directors, where she held the position of board president from 1993-97. Fran was appointed to chief executive officer of the Girl Scouts Great Plains Council in 2007, and was promoted to chief executive officer of the Girl Scouts Spirit of Nebraska Council in 2008, following a merger of five former Nebraska councils.

A native Nebraskan, Fran earned both her Bachelor’s (finance) and Master’s (management) degree from the University of Nebraska, Omaha. For 32 years, she worked for First National Bank, where she moved up through the company in various positions, including senior vice president in the Shared Services Division.

In addition to her successful banking career, Fran has always devoted time to the community through her involvement with many non-profit organizations such as United Way; Omaha Women’s Fund; Ballet Omaha; Junior Achievement; Howard Kennedy School; Heartland Family Service; Eastern Nebraska Office on Aging; UNO Women’s Walk; UNO’s Alumni Association; and the City of Omaha Police Foundation Board.

Due to her commitment to advocate on behalf of women’s issues, Fran has received numerous awards including: Ten Outstanding Young Omahans, 1991; YWCA’s Woman of Distinction, 1994; Lady Mav Distinguished Person, 1994; and both the Honor Pin and Thanks Badge from Girl Scouts in 1994 and 1998 respectively.

Linda B. Willis
Board President

Linda Bakula Willis was elected as president of the Board of Directors for the Girl Scouts Spirit of Nebraska Council in 2008, after playing a key role in leading the merger of five former Nebraska councils. Prior to that, Linda was president of the Girl Scouts Great Plains Council Board of Directors (2004-2008), serving members in Omaha and surrounding communities.

Linda focuses her time on community volunteer work, advocating for organizations that support leadership opportunities for women and youth. She is currently serving on the Executive Committee for the 2013 US Senior Open as the chair of Spectator Services. In this role, she oversees five committees that will be responsible for more than 2,000 volunteers at the weeklong event, which is expected to draw 150,000 spectators. For Omaha Country Club, she served as advisor on the Course Review Committee, chair of the Women’s Golf Program and member of the Search Committee for a new greens superintendent. Linda has chaired and served as advisor for artVenture, a Girl Scouts Spirit of Nebraska fundraising event. She is also currently a trustee for the Omaha Community Playhouse Foundation Board.

Linda holds a Bachelor of Science degree in business from Indiana University and her business experience encompasses marketing and sales positions beginning in Boston, Mass., for Prindle, Weber and Schmidt Publishing Corporation. She was a retail marketing director for County Bankshares in St. Louis, Mo. (subsequently post-merger with Commerce Bankshares headquartered in Kansas City, Mo.), assistant vice president of retail marketing for Manufacturers Hanover Bank (Chase Manhattan) in New York City and vice president of the Credit Card Division at Meritor Financial Corporation in Philadelphia, Pa., and Tampa, Fla.

2014-2015 Board of Directors

Board Officers

President–Lynne Ruth, Shelby-Rising City Public Schools, Rising City
First Vice President–Tricia Montague, Deloitte & Touch, Omaha
Second Vice President–Mike Sullivan, Baird Holm Law Firm, Omaha
Secretary–Jennifer Klein, Clark Enersen Partners, Lincoln
Treasurer–Bob Wick, UNICO, Columbus

Members At Large

Jennifer Bowland, Pamida Pharmacy, O’Neill
Deborah Brennan, Central Community College, Grand Island
Seanna Collins, Lincoln Housing Authority, Lincoln
Juli Comstock, Omaha Public Power District, Omaha
Colleen Dorwart, Cabela’s, Sidney
Diane Duren, Union Pacific, Omaha
Amanda Fanning, Adams Bank & Trust, Ogallala
Riley Garrigan, Great Plains Communications, Omaha
Katie Glover, Hornady Mfg., Co., Grand Island
Lynn Harland, University of Nebraska at Omaha, Omaha
Macala Hoffschneider, Great Western Bank, Lincoln
Michelle Keogh, Hampton Enterprises, Lincoln
Ann Pedersen, Lovgren Marketing Group, Omaha
Brian Runge, Dana F. Cole and Company, Lincoln
Tammie Schik, St. Cecilia Church, Hastings
Susan Seidel, Holland Basham Architects, Omaha
Linda Willis, Community Volunteer, Omaha